Skip to main content

How to Edit a Blocks Settings

You can update a block’s settings at any time by changing the block type (Optional vs Mandatory) or splitting the block back into individual shifts.

Written by Sarah Murray

Steps

  1. Navigate to Shifts screen
    ​
    ​

    • Go to Shifts from the main navigation.

    • In the left-hand panel under All Shifts, click Blocks.


​

2. Select the block
Find the block you want to cancel and click the shift dates (the hyperlink) to open the block details.


​

3. Open block settings
On the block details screen, click the green Settings button. A settings modal will appear.

4.Edit the block type
​
​

  • Optional block – locums can book or apply for any of the shifts within the block.
    ​
    ​

  • Mandatory block – locums can only book or apply for the entire block.
    ​
    ​

5. Split the block (optional)
​
​

  • Click the grey Split Block button to open the confirmation modal.
    ​
    ​

  • Select the green Yes, Republish button to split the block into individual shifts.

6. Save changes
​
​

  • If you have updated the block type, click Save Changes.
    ​
    ​

  • If you split the block, the individual shifts will be republished automatically.
    ​
    ​


Additional Information

  • Splitting a block will republish all included shifts as standalone postings.
    ​
    ​

  • Once a block is split, it cannot be re-formed automatically — you’ll need to create a new block if required.
    ​
    ​


Troubleshooting

  • I want to remove just one shift from the block: Use the Remove From Block option in the options drop down menu next to the specific shift.
    ​
    ​

  • Need help? Click the chat button in the bottom‑right corner of the screen to message our support team.

Did this answer your question?